Today I woke up unsettled and out of sorts.  I had set my alarm to “pm” instead of “am” so I was late to work.  The sky was dark with clouds and the weather person was calling for more snow.  Snow for a state and a people who are used to mild winters filled with sunny days.  Not good.

In the car hurrying to work, I try to figure out what is wrong.  I know I’m being ungrateful because God has richly blessed us in ways I never would have thought possible.  I mean, who cares if it’s sunny or snowing, raining or dry?  God has moved mountains and showered us in His goodness…why should the state of the weather matter so much?  Shouldn’t it be easy to praise and worship this loving Creator who fearlessly sacrificed His one and only Son for me?

Like a petulant and fretful child, I park my car in the lot in front of my building.  I move to get out (I am late remember?) and I hear the Spirit whisper, “Pray.”  I bow my head for a moment and ask the Lord to grant me grace for today, and then I take a deep breath and let it go.  A scripture comes to mind,

 “While the earth remains, seedtime and harvest,
         And cold and heat,
         And summer and winter,
         And day and night
         Shall not cease.” Genesis 8:22 NASB

What does this mean?  It comes from the story of Noah, who had to endure 40 days worth of continuous rain, and then six months of floating on the aftermath.  Shut up in an ark with his wife and in-laws and countless animals…may I just say, it’s no wonder that one of the first things he did after hitting land was to go out and get drunk.  No disrespect intended, but I believe the man had earned the right to tie one on.  I’m sure many of you will disagree with me and that’s ok. 

Getting back to my point, I believe the Lord was reminding me that Spring is on its way and to trust again in His faithfulness, just as Noah did.  Humbled again by His willingness to comfort a spoiled and contentious child, I relaxed and allowed Him to lift up my head. 

Now I’m headed to the nearest liquor store.  

Oh, I kid.  

I know it’s not Monday, but I’m doing this anyway.  Today I’m thankful for:

1. A slightly bent sense of humor.

2. The faithfulness of God.

3. WordPress.com

4. Warm coats.

5. Space heaters.

6. Sunshine.

7. Computers.

8. Cousins.

9. Pop-tarts.

10. Phone calls from my husband.  

 

 

