I have heard the word “redeemed,” read the word “redeemed,” and sung the word “redeemed” probably hundreds if not thousands of times since I began this walk with Christ.

I’ve done all that, but I hadn’t really thought about what the word means until last night at our women’s bible study. We’ve been working on Beth Moore’s study on Inheritance and last night we touched on how Christ has thoroughly redeemed us, stinky pasts and all.

For some reason…it hit me last night. I finally began to understand why I no longer need to be ashamed of my past.

BECAUSE JESUS HAS REDEEMED IT.  ALL OF IT.

Webster’s dictionary defines the word “redeem” in this way:

1 a : to buy back : repurchase b : to get or win back
2 : to free from what distresses or harms: as a : to free from captivity by payment of ransom b : to extricate from or help to overcome something detrimental c : to release from blame or debt : clear d : to free from the consequences of sin
3 : to change for the better : reform
4 : repair, restore
5 a : to free from a lien by payment of an amount secured thereby b (1) : to remove the obligation of by payment <the United States Treasury redeems savings bonds on demand> (2) : to exchange for something of value <redeem trading stamps> c : to make good : fulfill
6 a : to atone for : expiate <redeem an error> b (1) : to offset the bad effect of (2) : to make worthwhile : retrieve

The very last definition got me..”to make worthwhile.”

Romans 8:28 NASB ~ And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.

My past, all the pain that was forced upon me and all the pain that I caused for myself by my choices…somehow, someway God is causing ALL OF IT to work for my good, because of the miraculous work done by Jesus on the cross.

So I stand today, unashamed; not as though I’ve never done anything shameful, but as one who has been redeemed, bought back, atoned for, freed from every distressing or harmful thing, ransomed, extricated from every detrimental thing, released from blame, cleared, changed for the better, repaired, restored, freed from indebtedness, made good, and made worthwhile.

What can we say about this beautiful Saviour?

My heart has searched for words

But they are lost in the splendor of His Grace

Overwhelmed by the majesty of  His glorious face

All that I can do

Is lift my hands

With heartfelt, soul-deep

Awestruck thank-yous

